Audi A3 E-tron Forum

It is currently Mon Apr 24, 2017 3:48 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Added amp to B&O subwoofer
PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2017 10:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 6:28 pm
Posts: 19
Got tired of not having bass control. Went ahead and experimented with a fix today and ended up adding an amplifier to the stock sub. Thought about redoing the whole sub enclosure, but those days are over for me. I'll share some discoveries.

The wiring harness has 4 wires. All wires go to 1 6inch woofer. The 12v battery is right next to the sub under the plastic enclosure. There's even a chassis ground with a bolt in the area.

Image

Image

The woofer is a dual voice coil. Each VC is 8ohm and wired in parallel. For one channel its blue/violet (-) and white (+), for the other channel brown/blue is (+) and brown/white (-).

Anyway, I just used ONE of the pairs of leads for the input to the amp, and ONE pair of leads to the sub and this worked perfectly. I have experience with being too risky with OEM electronics,and these systems are not as tolerant of mistakes as aftermarket stuff.

Result: The sub works great now and I have a bass knob to adjust bass as I see fit. This also balances the system more makes it overall way more enjoyable.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Added amp to B&O subwoofer
PostPosted: Sat Mar 18, 2017 9:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 6:28 pm
Posts: 19
UPDATE: Had problems with the sub channel not outputting a signal from time to time. Long story short, this was the only solution:

http://www.audiocontrol.com/car-audio/f ... rade/lc2i/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Added amp to B&O subwoofer
PostPosted: Thu Apr 20, 2017 11:03 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2017 11:00 am
Posts: 1
Did you have to disable active noise cancelling? If so, how did you do it?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Added amp to B&O subwoofer
PostPosted: Sun Apr 23, 2017 10:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 6:28 pm
Posts: 19
edpete97 wrote:
Did you have to disable active noise cancelling? If so, how did you do it?


:?:
I dont know what that means, so I probably did not do that.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
© Audi A3 E-tron Forum - part of the MyElectricCarForums.com Group